Outstanding Faculty

Rutgers faculty frequently give public lectures. Check departmental websites and the Events Calendar for symposia, colloquia, and other lecture series.

Outstanding Faculty

The 2016 SAS Awards for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Education honored faculty members for accomplishments both within and beyond the classroom.
  • inn.rutgers.edu

Award-Winning Professors

Rutgers faculty are internationally recognized for the work they do to create new knowledge, generate innovative ideas, and prepare the next generation of leaders. They have won the National Medals of Science and Technology, Guggenheim Fellowships, MacArthur “Genius” Awards, and Fulbright Scholarships, and been named Professor of the Year. They have been elected to the most prestigious scholarly societies: the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, American Academy of Arts and Letters, and American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Martin YarmushMartin L. Yarmush, a distinguished professor in biomedical engineering at the School of Engineering, was elected in 2017 to the National Academy of Engineering, among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Yarmush was recognized for his “pioneering advances in cellular, tissue, and organ engineering and for leadership in applying metabolic engineering to human health.”

Aaron MazzeoAaron Mazzeo, an assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, has been awarded a 2017 National Science Foundation CAREER Award. Mazzeo was recognized for his “papertronics” research that focuses on developing wearable, paper-based sensors for measuring bioelectrical signals and perspiration. Mazzeo’s award comes with a five-year grant, which he will use to advance his research while also involving undergraduates from the School of Engineering and the Rutgers Honors College in hands-on papertronics seminars.

Siobain Duffy and Ning Zhang

Two School of Environmental and Biological Sciences faculty received 2016 Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) awards from the National Science Foundation. They are Siobain Duffy (left), associate professor in the Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources, and Ning Zhang, associate professor in the Department of Plant Biology and Pathology.

Joachim Messing and Richard H. Ebright

Rutgers–New Brunswick professors Joachim Messing (left) and Richard H. Ebright are among 213 members elected in 2016 to the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Messing is director of Rutgers’ Waksman Institute of Microbiology and a professor of molecular biology. Ebright is a professor of chemistry and chemical biology and laboratory director at the Waksman Institute of Microbiology.

  • morgan-properties.com
  • www.goang.com
  • pharmacy.rutgers.edu